igcseSecondary School IGCSE/ICE : for grade 9 and 10

Cambridge IGCSE is the world’s most popular international curriculum for 14-16 year olds, leading to globally recognised and valued Cambridge IGCSE qualifications. It is part of the Cambridge Secondary 2 stage.

The curriculum, pedagogy and activities focus on international perspectives making students global citizens in the true sense of the word. The curriculum contains five groups from which the students may choose as per their inclinations and talents. At the end of the programme students are assessed by the school as well as the IGCSE examiners.

The IGCSE is acknowledged and respected by universities all over the world and also prepares the students for Senior Secondary Level like the IB Diploma program, CBSE’s Senior Secondary Certificate Exam etc.

Cambridge ICE is the group award of the International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) and requires the study of seven subjects drawn from the five different IGCSE subject groups.

The curriculum

Cambridge IGCSE curriculum encourages learner-centred and enquiry-based approaches to learning. It develops learners’ skills in creative thinking, enquiry and problem solving, giving the learner excellent preparation for the next stage in their education.

A Child, who is opting for IGCSE, can offer any combination of subjects. Each subject is certificated separately. It is a comprehensive programme that covers a number of subject areas such as Mathematics, Science, Humanities, English, Languages, Art, Technology and Social Sciences.

CIE Assessment

Assessment for Cambridge IGCSE usually takes place at the end of the two-year course and includes written and oral tests, coursework and practical assessment.

In most subjects there is a choice between core and extended curricula, making IGCSE suitable for a wide range of abilities. Each learner’s performance is benchmarked using eight internationally recognised grades. There are clear guidelines which explain the standard of achievement for different grades. Cambridge IGCSE examination sessions occur twice a year, in May/June and October/November. Results are issued in August and January.


There are five Subject Groups in IGCSE with several subjects to choose from, in each group : Languages; Humanities and Social Science; Sciences; Mathematics; Creative, Technical & Vocational. Each student should choose minimum of seven subjects, Group One is compulsory, one each from the given groups (group 2 to 5) and one more from any of the five groups. The student can choose as many subjects as he/she desires.

Group 1 : Languages (Compulsory)

English – First Language

Hindi – Second Language

Group 2 : Humanities  (Choose at least 1 from this group)




Group 3 : Sciences (Choose at least 1 from this group)



Combined Science

Group 4 : Mathematics (Compulsory)


Group 5 : Creative, Technical, Vocational (Choose at least 1 from this group)


Art and Design

Business Studies

Information Technologies

  Examination System

For the IGCSE batch, there will be four Terms with examinations in:

April to September (Year 1-Grade 9)
October to March (Year 1- Grade 9)
April to September ( Year 2- Grade 10)
October to April ( Year 2-Grade 10)
May -Final IGCSE Exams-(Year 2- Grade 10)

(The continuous assessments throughout will be done by way of class tests and Weekly tests.)


The grades available for extended level are A* to U as

A*, A, B, C, D, E, F, G, U

The grades available for core level are C to U as

C, D, E, F, G, U

More Information on CIE please visit www.cie.org.uk

Students may visit www.cambridgestudents.org.uk website. To see Sangam School on CIE web site click on this link